Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
30

Getting Creative with Adversity

A conversation with Kimberly Warner
30

I'm applying what I've learned living with my unfixed body into other realms now and seeing these voices on Substack through that lens...like, wow, how can we be creative with this kind of adversity?

I have a huge professional crush on Kimberly Warner of Unfixed Media and Unfixed Substack. Kim writes and makes films about human experiences of vulnerability, and I first discovered her work through another Substack friend, Mr. Troy Ford. She struck me as someone who’s able to bring her authentic self into something as icky as self promotion and turn the whole enterprise into something so much larger; from I to we. Inviting her on Writers in Relationship for a chat, given the focus of her work, was a no-brainer.

Check out Kim’s memoir and other writings (her most recent essay, In Defense of Bitter, is one of my favorites, like, ever) on Unfixed Substack. You can also check out her video work on Unfixed Media.

Discussion about this podcast

Writers in Relationship
Writers in Relationship Podcast
This Substack shines a light on the unique place of relationship in the lives of writers: relationships with ourselves, our creations, our editors, our publishers, our families, or our pasts. The way we relate has a deep impact on our work. Join us!
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Gail Marlene Schwartz
Kimberly Warner